Fines And Penalties Under California Drunk Driving Laws

Following are the specific provisions regarding the fines and penalties under California drunk driving laws.

First Dui Conviction

- You are likely to be ordered to get ignition interlock device installed.
- It becomes mandatory to complete a dui program.
- Your driving license can be suspended for six months. You can get restricted license by first obtaining California SR22 Insurance.
- You may be asked to pay a certain sum of monetary fine, somewhere between $390 and $1000.
- Though a jail term is quite unlikely for a minor first time offence, for major offences (even if it is for the first time), you be sent to jail for 96 hours to six months.

Second Dui Conviction (Within Ten Years Of Previous Conviction) 

A second California drunk driving conviction hat happens ten years after the first conviction is legally treated as first conviction. But, if you have been convicted for the second time within 10 years of the previous conviction, the following fines and penalties will apply.

- Mandatory completion of a dui program
- Mandatory installation of ignition interlock device
- License suspension for two years
- Jail term for three to twelve months
- Restricted license may be issued but only after obtaining California SR22 Certificate

Third Dui Conviction (Within Ten Years Of The Second Conviction)

- It will be mandatory for you to complete an awareness program for driving under the influence.
- Your license will get suspended for three years. Restricted driving license may be issued after twelve months but California SR22 Certificate is required for that.
- Installation of Ignition Interlock Device (IID) is must.
- The court issues a “bad” designation for you – “Habitual Offender”.
- The monetary fine can be anywhere within the range of $390 to $1000.
- The jail term is most likely – at least for three months and a maximum of one year.

Fourth DUI Conviction In California (Within Ten Years Of The Third Conviction)

- As per the California drunk driving laws, the law enforcement will suspend your license for four years. You can apply for restricted license after twelve months, but you will not be able to get it unless you first obtain California SR22 Certificate.
- Having an Ignition Interlock Device installed in your vehicle is legally mandatory.
- The fine amount ranges from $390 to $1000.
- You can be sent to jail for a period of 180 Days to 1 Year

If you get convicted ten years after a previous conviction, it is counted as your first under California drunk driving laws.