Iowa Workers Compensation Laws

Iowa workers compensation laws have been designed in such a way that encourages employers and employees to resolve the issues related to occupation injuries compensation through open communication. However, it is important to understand that the workers compensation commissioner’s office does not provide legal assistance in this matter. It is just that you can contact them for detailed information about your legal rights and the options available to employers and employees in specific cases. Following is a brief rundown on some of the most important points in the laws that you must be well aware of.

Legal Requirements For Employers

There are certain legal requirements that have been imposed by the Iowa workers compensation laws on employers. Certain penalties might be applicable to those employers who do not meet those requirements thoroughly. For example, it is legally mandatory for them to offer occupational injury compensation to all their employees. However, they can choose to either be self insured or get insured by a private insurance carrier.

Eligibility Criteria For Employees

Unlike other states, Iowa laws allow even domestic employees to qualify for occupational injury compensation benefits. However, in all cases, it is the responsibility of the employees to prove that the injuries or illness occurred at the workplace. It is important to note that limited liability company members and partners, sole proprietors and partners, and independent contractors are legally not eligible for benefits under Iowa workers compensation laws. However, they still have an option to buy private workers’ compensation insurance policies to cover such risks.

Injury Reporting Requirements

It is legally mandatory for all employers to maintain the records of the diseases and injuries occurring at the workplace. Every time an employee gets injured while at job or suffers from an occupational illness, it must be recorded properly by the employer provided the injury or the illness lasts longer than one day. However, it is prohibited under the laws to use these injury records as a proof in court trials for occupational injury compensation cases. After the employer is notified and finds that the injury lasts for more than 3 days, they must file a report regarding the same to the occupational injury compensation commissioner within 4 business days.

As it is quite clear with the injury reporting requirements, the Iowa workers compensation laws impose a 3-day waiting period for the employees before they can start using the worker’s compensation benefits.