New Hampshire Workers Compensation Laws

New Hampshire workers compensation laws were passed in the year 1947. These regulations are administered and enforced by the Occupational Injury Division of the state Department of labor. The laws ensure that workers get adequate medical benefits and wage replacement in cases where they suffer from work-related injuries or illnesses. It is very important for you to keep in mind that the laws regulating these types of cases may vary significantly from one state to another. Workers and employees are strongly recommended to be very well aware of the laws applicable in this state. Their awareness will help them make the best use of the legal rights provided under these laws.

The Injured Workers Have The Right To Get Their Job Back After They Are Medically Fit

As per the New Hampshire workers compensation laws, the employers must return the job back to the workers after they are fully recovered. In cases, where they are still suffering from certain types of disability caused by the occupational injuries or diseases, their work profile must be modified accordingly and they must be offered light jobs – something that they can perform easily. This should happen without cutting back their salary.


Employers are responsible to make payments for all medical bills resulting from the injuries. Besides that, injured workers also have the right to receive up to sixty percent of their lost wages provided the injuries have caused them to miss at least three days of work. It is also important to note that the New Hampshire workers compensation laws require employers to cover all types of employees in this insurance plan, including those who work as undocumented workers or on a temporary or part-time basis.

Time Limitations To Report Injuries

The laws require employees to report the work-related injuries or illnesses within two years from the date of the accident or from the date when the disease was first diagnosed. But, it is important to note that the longer you wait, the more difficult it will be for you to qualify for proper compensation benefits. It means you must try to report as soon as possible. Please note that the 2-year time period is for the employees to report the accident to their employers. But, employers have only five days to file their report to the state Department of Labor. This 5-day period begins from the date of injury notification by the injured worker.

Employers and workers can contact the New Hampshire Department of Labor if they have certain queries regarding occupational injury claims under the New Hampshire workers compensation laws. The Department also hears disputed cases. They can be reached at 95 Pleasant Street, Concord, NH 03301, phone number – 603-271-3176.