Ohio Drunk Driving Penalties

As per the state laws, there are provisions for certain Ohio drunk driving penalties for those who drive with a blood alcohol concentration of 0.08 or higher. For commercial drivers, the BAC limit is 0.04 while for under-21 drivers, the BAC limit is 0.02 only.

First Dui Conviction In Ohio

The following Ohio drunk driving penalties apply for the first time conviction in a dui case.

- The minimum monetary fine is $250; the maximum is $1000
- Your driving license will be suspended for at least a period of six months and for a maximum period of three years.
- Once the suspension period is over, you will have to pay a reinstatement fee of $450 in order to get your license back.
- If BAC level is 0.17 or above, you will have to spend at least six days (mandatory) in jail. Otherwise, the minimum compulsory jail imprisonment period is only three days. The maximum period can be as long as one hundred and eighty days.
- The court will also ask you to complete a driver intervention program for at least three days.

Second Dui Conviction In Ohio

The second-time conviction results in the following Ohio drunk driving penalties.

- The Driver Intervention Program is again mandatory, but no minimum or maximum period has been specified.
- Vehicle immobilization for three months
- Suspension of driving license for a period of one to five years. Reinstatement fee is $450
- You will also have to pay a monetary fine of at least $350; the maximum fine can be as high as $1500.
- If BAC is 0.17 or above, you will spend at least twenty days in jail; otherwise, the minimum mandatory jail imprisonment period is ten days.
- Besides that, the punishments also include Electronic Home Monitoring for a period ranging from eighteen days to one hundred and eighty days.

Third Dui Conviction In Ohio

When you get convicted for a third-time, you must be ready to face the following Ohio drunk driving penalties.

- It will be mandatory to complete an alcohol treatment program
- Vehicle immobilization for six months
- Your driving license will be forfeited for a period of twelve months to ten year. The reinstatement fee of $450 still applies
- The minimum and maximum monetary fine remains the same as is in the second conviction – $350 to $1500
- Sixty days in jail if BAC level is 0.17 or above; otherwise, minimum jail imprisonment period is thirty days. The maximum jail term in both cases is one year.
- In some cases, the court may reduce the jail imprisonment period to fifteen days provided you agree to go through the electronic home monitoring for a period of fifty-five days to twelve months.

Fourth Dui Conviction In Ohio

The fourth and subsequent conviction attracts the following Ohio drunk driving penalties.

- Completing an alcohol or drug treatment program is mandatory again
- Vehicle forfeiture is also mandatory
- Your driving license this time will be suspended for at least three years. Depending upon the severity of the offence committed, the court may even order for permanent suspension of your license.
- If it is not a permanent suspension, you will again have to pay a reinstatement fee of $450 in order to get your license back once the suspension period is over.

Failing To Submit To A Field Sobriety Test

If you refuse to submit to the field sobriety test, you will invite additional Ohio drunk driving penalties, which include up to one year of license suspension for the first time refusal. The additional penalties can be much harsher for subsequent refusals.