Alaska Auto Insurance Laws

Alaska auto insurance laws have made it mandatory for all drivers to carry adequate amount of insurance coverage. This way, the drivers can protect themselves financially in cases of road accidents. There are over 900,000 registered vehicles in the state of Alaska. However, it is also important to note that there are still some specific areas in this state, where registration of vehicles is not required. In those areas, buying vehicle insurance policy is optional. But, if you are residing in an area where registration is compulsory, you must carry an auto insurance policy with at least the minimum coverage amount as specified under the laws.

Penalties For Not Carrying Proper Insurance

If you are found guilty of driving a vehicle without proper insurance policy, you will be penalized for the same as per the provisions made under Alaska auto insurance laws. Here, it is very important for you to keep in mind that driving while uninsured and failure to provide proof of insurance are two different things. For example, there can be a situation when you have bought insurance policy but you forgot to carry the same while you go out for driving. The penalties vary accordingly. If you fail to show the proof of insurance, your car is very much likely to be impounded by the police officials belonging to the local municipality. You can get your vehicle back by showing them the proof of insurance. But, if you are caught driving while uninsured, you are very much likely to face vehicle registration suspension. You can get the registration of your vehicle reinstated after purchasing proper insurance policy.

Just like the laws in other states, Alaska auto insurance laws have also imposed certain minimum limit on the amount of coverage drivers must have with their vehicle insurance polices. The policy must include $50,000 of coverage for bodily injury to one person, $100,000 of coverage for bodily injury per accident, and $50,000 of coverage for property damage.