Georgia Drunk Driving Penalties

As per the laws regarding Georgia drunk driving penalties, it is a criminal offence for commercial drivers to drive vehicles with a BAC (blood alcohol content) level of 0.04 or higher. The BAC limit for drivers under 21 years of age is 0.02. For all other drivers, the BAC limit is 0.08. Georgia has also enacted the Implied Consent Laws, as per which, if you are stopped for a dui offence and the police official asks you to take to state chemical tests of urine, breath or blood, you must not refuse. These tests are important to determine whether you are guilty of a dui offence or not. Even if you are sure that you have not committed any offence, it is legally mandatory for you to take the test. Refusal to take these tests will be considered as another legal offence, which may attract penalties like driving license suspension for one year.

First Dui Conviction In Georgia

If you get convicted for the first time in a dui case in Georgia, it will attract the following Georgia drunk driving penalties.

- A minimum forty hours of community service is mandatory.
- Your driving license will be suspended for a maximum period of twelve months. However, you have the option to get the license reinstated by paying an addition monetary fine of $210.
- The basic monetary fine ranges from a minimum $300 to a maximum $1000.
- Depending upon the severity of the offence, you are also very much likely to be sent to jail for at least ten days to a maximum of 12-month period.

Second Dui Conviction In Georgia

- It will be mandatory to complete an evaluation of treatment program as ordered by the court.
- A minimum 30-day period of community service is also mandatory.
- Your driving license will get suspended for a maximum period of three years. The laws provide you an option to get the license reinstated on an additional monetary fine of $210. However, it is entirely up to the court to take a final decision in this regard. In general, the court may allow you to get your license reinstated if you pay the fine as required and also get an ignition interlock device installed in your vehicle.
- A minimum $600 of basic monetary fine; the maximum is $1000.
- A minimum 90 days of jail imprisonment is mandatory. The maximum period you can sent to jail for is twelve months.

Third Dui Conviction In Georgia

A third time conviction in a dui case in the state of Georgia may result in the following Georgia drunk driving penalties.

- The court will order you to complete a specific evaluation or treatment program.
- You will also have to participate in community service for a minimum period of thirty days.
- Your case will get local newspaper coverage, which is not a good thing. Your photo with the complete details of the offence will get published in local newspapers.
- Your driving license will be suspended for a maximum period of five years. You however again have an option to apply for license reinstatement by paying an additional penalty of $210.
- The basic monetary fine is at least $1000, which can be extended up to $5000 depending upon the severity of the offence committed.
- A minimum 120 days of jail imprisonment is mandatory; the maximum is one year.

Fourth Dui Conviction In Georgia

A fourth time conviction in a dui case in Georgia is considered as a felony offence and attracts the following Georgia drunk driving penalties.

- You must complete a dui evaluation or treatment program.
- It will also be mandatory for you to participate in community service for a minimum period of sixty days.
- The basic monetary fine ranges from $1000 to $5000
- Permanent license suspension
- The minimum term for jail imprisonment is one year; the maximum is 5 years.