New York Bankruptcy Laws

New York bankruptcy laws allow the debtor declared as bankrupt to use federal supplemental exemptions along with the state specific exemptions. However, you cannot substitute the state specific exemptions completely with the federal exemptions set. New York bankruptcy district courts are located in more than a dozen places under the four group regions – New York Eastern District Court, New York Northern District Court, New York Southern District Court, and New York Western District Court.