New York Drunk Driving Penalties

Those who get convicted under dui charges attract certain New York drunk driving penalties. Even refusal to take the chemical test when stopped under the suspicion of drunk driving is also treated as a serious offence and results in additional mandatory penalties. As per the Implied Consent Law applicable in the state of New York, the refusal will result in the suspension of your driving license for at least a period of twelve months. Besides that, for the first time refusal, you will also have to pay an additional mandatory fine of $500; for the second time refusal, the fine is $750.